‘No plans to travel abroad’: Imran Khan says after being placed on no-fly list

Former Prime Minister of Pakistan Imran Khan gestures as he speaks to members of the media at his residence on May 18, 2023 in Lahore, Pakistan. — Reuters
  • Imran Khan thanked the government for putting him in the no-fly list.
  • The former prime minister claims that he will not go, as he has no assets abroad.
  • The PTI chief says that he will go to the mountains of Pakistan instead of celebrating holidays.

After being put on the no-fly list along with 226 of his party’s leaders and lawmakers, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan on Friday thanked the government for doing so, saying his foreign travel There is no intention to do so.

A day earlier, according to sources, Khan and hundreds of PTI leaders were included. FIA Provisional National Identification List (PNIL) They should be barred from traveling abroad for their involvement in the May 9 violent riots that damaged public and private property, especially those belonging to the country’s armed forces.

On Twitter, the PTI chief wrote: “I want to thank the government for putting my name in ECL as I have no intention of going abroad.”

Citing the reasons behind his plans, the former prime minister – who was ousted after a no-confidence vote in April last year – said he neither had “any property or business abroad nor Have a bank account outside the country.”

However, if he had the chance to go on holiday, Khan said he would choose the country’s northern mountains, calling the spots his “favorite place on earth”.

“If and when I get a chance to vacation, it will be in our northern mountains, my favorite place on earth,” he added.

According to sources, Imran Khan’s wife Bushra Bibi has also been included in the list, along with PTI leader Murad Saeed, Malika Bukhari, Fawad Chaudhry, Hamad Azhar, Qasim Suri, Asad Qaiser, Yasmin Rashid and Mian Aslam Iqbal. are

Sources further claimed that some PTI leaders and officials tried to leave the country in the last three days but were stopped at the airports.

In an attempt to stop them from leaving the country, the police, Counter-Terrorism Department (CTD) and intelligence agencies sent their names.

During the crackdown against Tehreek-e-Insaf, thousands of party workers and leaders were arrested. May 9 For the party’s alleged involvement in riots that left at least 8 people dead and dozens injured.

Many Party leaders and legislators — including Shireen Mazari, Fawad Chaudhry, Aamir Mehmood Kayani, Malik Amin Aslam, Mehmood Maulvi, Aftab Siddiqui, Fayyazul Hasan Chauhan, among others — have publicly condemned the attacks on state facilities and the May 9 vandalism. It has since announced to quit the former ruling party. .

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *