South Carolina governor signs 6-week abortion ban into law
South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster signed a bill Thursday that Bans most abortions. After about six weeks of pregnancy.
McMaster, a Republican who has been vocal in his opposition to abortion rights and who had previously promised to pass the bill through lawmakers during the state legislative session, said the restrictions would be immediate. But are effective.
“With my signature, the Fetal Heartbeat and Abortion Protection Act is now law,” McMaster said. Tweeted Thursday morning. He added that his administration is prepared to “defend this legislation” against pushback.
“It’s a great day for life in South Carolina, but the fight is not over. We stand ready to defend this law against any challenge and are confident we will succeed,” the governor said. Statement. “The right to life must be protected, and we will do everything we can to protect it.”
The law reinstates a strict set of abortion restrictions throughout South Carolina, which the state initially enacted when the U.S. Supreme Court overturned last year’s Roe v. Wade was overturned. They Initial restriction The South Carolina Supreme Court later overturned it in a ruling that found it violated privacy rights enshrined in the state constitution.
With this decision, abortion remained legal in South Carolina until 22 weeks of pregnancy. The state saw an increase in abortions as a result, as many of its southern neighbors passed stricter restrictions on the procedure, and Republican lawmakers and McMaster simultaneously pushed for legislation that would have Can garner enough support to pass in Carolina.
The abortion ban is a modified version of a signed into law this week. Suggestion from the state’s Republican-led Senate, which aimed to outlaw abortion without exception. The bill that eventually passed included exceptions for rape and rape, and allowed abortions up to 12 weeks into pregnancy in cases where two doctors had certified that the exceptions were met.
Other requirements to meet the South Carolina law’s criteria for exceptional circumstances include previously filed police reports for survivors of sexual assault who seek abortions between six and 12 weeks. Republican Rep. Nancy Mays, South Carolina’s state house, said recently CBS News That he opposed the ban because of that mandate.
“I would not support this particular legislation because of the police reporting requirements,” Mace said. “I am a rape victim myself. I was raped as a teenager at the age of 16. If I had to report it to the police, I could not live with myself. Most rape victims Individuals don’t report it. It’s a very painful experience. And forcing that report to the local sheriff is wrong. That’s a non-starter.”
South Carolina has additional exceptions to the 12-week ban for fatal fetal anomalies and the life and health of the fetus, but it otherwise makes abortions illegal after the sixth week. Most people don’t know they’re pregnant until six weeks after conception.
Under the terms of the ban, South Carolina doctors who perform abortions who do not comply with its restrictions could face up to two years in prison and a $10,000 fine.