Shaheen Shah Afridi named PSL 2023 team captain

Lahore Qalandars captain Shaheen Shah Afridi (C) with the FSL final trophy in Lahore on March 19, 2023. — Twitter/@iShaheenAfridi

Captain of Lahore Qalandars Shaheen Shah Afridi An independent panel headed by technical committee chairman Haroon Rasheed appointed him as the captain of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2023 team.

The panel also included commentators Bazid Khan, Darren Ganga, Nick Knight and Sana Mir as members.

Shaheen Shah Afridi appointed captain of PSL 2023 team

While selecting the side, the independent panel considered several aspects of T20 cricket, including consistency, impact on the side and the overall game, and the best possible team combination to ensure that the team can perform at any venue on any day. Can compete with the T20 side. any conditions.

Afridi inspired the Qalandars to top the points table with seven wins, then helped his side overcome a qualifier defeat to Multan Sultans by defeating Peshawar Zalmi in Eliminator 2, and finally scored 44 off 15 balls. Scored runs and remained not out. And by taking 4 wickets for 51 not only won the Man of the Match award but also led his team for the second time in a row. PSL Title

This is the fourth year in a row that Afridi has made it to the special team following the concept of PSL teams that was introduced in 2019.

The team also includes Sultans players Abbas Afridi and Ehsanullah who won PSL 8’s Emerging and Player of the PSL awards respectively.

Like the Multan duo, Mohammad Haris and Azam Khan have also been selected for the team of the tournament.

In all, the team includes five players, losing to the finalist Sultans, two players Qalandars and Zalmi, and one player each from Islamabad United and Karachi Kings.

Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam have been selected as openers, with Harris, Riley Russo, Azam and Kieron Pollard forming a strong middle order. First-time pick Imad Wasim comes in as an all-rounder in the PSL squad, followed by wrist-spinner Rashid Khan and three fast bowlers Afridi, Ehsanullah and Abbas.

It is the fourth time in five years that Babar has been selected as an opener, although the first time was with his partner Rizwan, who himself has been selected in the team of the tournament for the third time in a row.

PSL 8 Team (In Batting Order)

Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans) (550 runs, 1×100, 4×50, strike rate 142.85)

Babur Azam (Peshawar Zalmi) (522 runs, 1×100, 5×50, strike rate 145.40)

Mohammad Haris (Peshawar Zalmi) (350 runs, 2×50, strike rate 186.17)

Riley Russo* (Multan Sultans) (453 runs, 1×100, 3×50, strike rate 171.59)

Azam Khan (Islamabad United) (282 runs, 2×50, strike rate 161.14)

Kieron Pollard* (Multan Sultans) (260 runs, 2×50, strike rate 163.52; 3 wickets, 8.62 aeq.)

Imad Wasim (Karachi Kings) (404 runs, 3×50, strike rate 170.46; 9 wickets, 7.93 aeq.)

Shaheen Shah Afridi (Lahore Qalandars) (captain) (133 runs, strike rate 168.35; 19 wickets, 9.13 aeq.)

Rashid Khan* (Lahore Qalandars) (20 wickets, 6.53 aeq.)

Abbas Afridi (Multan Sultans) (23 wickets, 9.45 aeq.)

Ehsan Allah (Multan Sultans) (22 wickets, 7.59 eq.)

Saim Ayub (Peshawar Zalmi) (341 runs, 5×50, 165.53)

* Denotes foreign players.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *